Cannelés, Bordeaux style

5254672cdbfa3f2cda00f049._w.540_h.405_s.fit_.jpg

4-astuces-pour-reussir-des-canneles-a-tous-les-coups.jpg

I recall one Summer in France, we bought loads of these dainty little cake, a speciality of Bordeaux, and we chomped non stop on them driving across the countryside. It is a compelling pick me again taste which border a sticky gummy muffin like but tastes like a baba-au-rhum.

A few years ago, I came across this blog by Chez Pim, who recounts the complexity of making cannelés at home and gives her insider tips on how to make the perfect cannelés, such as using the right amount of beeswax to coat the moulds, freezing the copper moulds before use, and adjusting the oven temperature three times during the baking process. Despite feeling better informed about these finicky cakes, when I was done reading Pim’s post, I was exhausted and couldn’t face the idea of actually attempting the recipe; there were too many variables and I didn’t feel confident with a recipe which was so fraught with failure.

So not only was I surprised to find a recipe for cannelés in Rachel Khoo’s latest cookbook, My Little French Kitchen, but she claimed to have a foolproof recipe using … cheap silicone moulds.

canneles-4.jpg

CANNELÉS
Prep time
20 mins
Cook time
1 hour 15 mins
Total time
1 hour 35 mins
Recipe adapted from My Little French Kitchen by Rachel Khoo
Serves: 16 cakes
Method
Thank you for reading my Blog and leaving a comment.

