Tropical Raspberries ?

Yesterday saw local raspberries in Dar … very happy, so I bought some. They reminded me of my island’s ones which I have not seen for the last decade or so.
Alas! reaching home, I realised that the taste was … far far not what I expected. So had to chuck them away. Sad.
Sweet, delicate, tangy, they melt in the mouth as I remember them from Mauritius. They make their appearance in Winter (yes, the island has a Winter!) , around the capital with some sellers stocking them up in the glass boxes on bicycles. A sprinkle of sugar, and voila !
Winter brings also goyaves de chine, picking them becomes an outing for many families . It was not my favourite, I preferred being served the sweetest and plumpest with some nice salt and chillies … no effort, in the vain way!

Thank you for reading my Blog and leaving a comment.

