World Aids Day

I am a few days late to post this, but upon reflection, I think it is the right time to do so. As it is away from the main day when people have to remember about Aids, but doing so on a daily basis with enough awareness to protect oneself and support others who are affected by this terrible disease of the 21st century.

It reminds me of a recent conversation I had a few days ago with a friend. About a friend of hers who died from AIDS. And how the family was defensive about it and to protect their own position, told the rest of the world that their brother had cancer. Instead of accepting the idea of having Aids and the social stigmas that still keep growing each day in each community everywhere in the world.  In many societies, it is considered shameful to have AIDS…. It is OK to have cancer and die of it. I still cannot accep the candour and hypocrisy with which men behave towards their own loved ones when faced by this disease.

Anyway, I should carry on living my own little insignificant life thinking that somewhere, someone might be counting the numbers of months, days, hours, … minutes of life left to them. I should spare a thought to them now …. and at all times I can remember.

Amen.

Read more :

http://www.worldaidscampaign.org

Thank you for reading my Blog and leaving a comment.

